2010 High School Scholarship Essay Contest

Announcement of Winners
Total Scholarship Awards $9,500

The Sacramento Chapter of Physicians for Social Responsibility congratulates the winners of the 2010 PSR/Sacramento Scholarship Essay Contest.

Selected from 148 entries that we received this year, their essays were based on the Native American saying:

We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.

First place – Parinaz Fozouni, Oak Ridge High School, El Dorado Hills

Second place – Austin Lillywhite, Folsom High School, Folsom

Third place – Keaton Boyle, Whitney High School, Rocklin

The other finalists were:

Kurt Chirbas, Granite Bay High School, Granite Bay

Manuel Crosby, Calaveras High School, San Andreas

Mathew Izzo, Ponderosa High School, Shingle Springs

Rene Suleiman, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento

Hannah Weiss, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento

Kaitlin Wheaton, Ponderosa High School, Shingle Springs

Please click on the student’s name to read their essay.

Hear an interview of Rene Suleiman and Mary Youngblood on the May 3, 2010 Capital Public Radio Insight program.

View the Scholarship Finals filmed by Media Edge.

Nine student finalists presented their essays orally at the PSR/Sacramento Scholarship Finals Dinner which was held on Sunday, May 2 at the Dante Club in Sacramento.

The 1st place winner received a $2,500 scholarship, 2nd place a $1,500 scholarship, and 3rd place a $1,000 scholarship. The other six finalists each received $750 scholarships. The 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners were chosen by a panel of distinguished judges: Environmental Council of Sacramento president Dr. Alex Kelter; Sacramento area educator Dr. Carl Mack; Pesticide Watch director Paul Towers; Sacramento County Public Health Director Dr. Glennah Trochet; and Grammy Award-winning Native American flutist Mary Youngblood, who performed during the evening program.

Thanks to everyone who helped make the 2010 PSR/Sacramento Scholarship Essay Contest a success, and, especially, to all the students who entered the contest. Special thanks to Media Edge for filming the event and to Steve Walker for the sound system engineering.