2016 High School Scholarship Essay Contest

PSR/Sacramento congratulates winners of the
2016 Scholarship Essay Contest

2016 Finalists

Students are, from left to right, Jordan Hunter (1st place winner), Nimish Saxena (2nd place winner), Nishita Jain, Minh Anh Nguyen Le (3rd place winner), Shreya Kumar, Jonah Cartwright, Elizabeth Helmke, Megan Pelz, Charlotte Selton, and Laura Blevins. Click on the students’ names below to read their essays.

The prompt for this year’s contest was a quotation from the Dalai Lama, who said,

“Peace can only last where human rights are respected, where the people are fed, and where individuals and nations are free.”

More than 130 students submitted essays this year. The 10 finalists were chosen by a rigorous screening process involving more that 30 essay readers blinded to any student identifying information. The 10 finalists presented their essays orally at the finals dinner on Sunday, May 1, at the DoubleTree by Hilton in Sacramento and answered questions about their essays from a distinguished panel of judges from the community who then chose the first, second, and third place winners. A total of $15,000 in scholarships was awarded.

The winners of the 2016 PSR/Sacramento High School Scholarship Contest are:

First Place ($3,000 Scholarship) – Jordan Hunter, Jesuit High School, Carmichael

Second Place ($2,500 Scholarship) – Nimish Saxena, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento

Third Place ($2,000 Scholarship) – Minh Anh Nguyen, Le West Campus High School, Sacramento

Other Finalists ($1,000 Scholarship each)
Laura Blevins, Bella Vista High School, Fair Oaks

Jonah Cartwright, Rio Americano High School, Sacramento

Elizabeth Helmke, Rio Americano High School, Sacramento

Nishita Jain, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento

Shreya Kumar, Cosumnes Oaks High School, Elk Grove

Megan Pelz, Vista del Lago High School, Folsom

Charlotte Selton, Mira Loma High School, Sacramento